Sunday, February 17, 2019
Text Size

AFSOC Airmen past, present recognized at 2012 Air Commando Association banquet

By Mike Martin, AFSOC Public Affairs
Published Date: 
Fri, 10/19/2012

Airmen from Air Force Special Operations Command received Air Commando Hall of Fame honors and Air Commando Association awards during the 2012 ACA banquet Oct. 13 at the Emerald Coast Conference Center.

The five retired Air Commandos inducted into the Air Commando Hall of Fame were Gen. Charles R. Holland, Maj. Gen. Robert B. Patterson, Col. Stephen R. Connelly, Col. Charles G. McMillan and Chief Master Sgt. Gordon H. Scott.

"I do not accept this honor on behalf of myself," Holland said. "I accept this on behalf of all you who made this happen.

"It's the dedication, the mission and the passion that make AFSOC what it is today. "

Air Commandos are inducted into the hall of fame for contributions they have made to AFSOC and the Air Commando community.

Awards received included Commando Medic of the Year, Intelligence-Surveillance- Reconnaissance Commando of the Year, AFSOC Squadron of the Year, and the ACA Leadership Award.

The ACA Leadership Award recognizes outstanding performers who have made the most significant contributions to mission accomplishments as determined by their respective commanders.

The following Airmen were selected for awards:

Commando Medic of the Year - Staff Sgt. Kyle Klapperich, 724th Special Tactics Group

ISR Commando of the Year - Tech Sgt. Jeffrey Tourne, 11th Intelligence Squadron

AFSOC Squadron of the Year - 24th Special Tactics Squadron

ACA Leadership awards recipients include:
Tech Sgt. Benjamin Arnold, 193rd Special Operations Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
Tech Sgt. Christiaan Becker, 919th Operations Support Squadron
Capt. Garrett Bridges, 1st Special Operations Squadron
Staff Sgt. Patrick Budenski, 352nd Special Operations Support Squadron
Capt. Taryn Council, 321rd Special Tactics Squadron
1st Lt. Eric Cranford, 1st Special Operations Maintenance Operations Squadron
Maj. Gregory Crew, Data Masked
Tech Sgt. Stephen Critten , 1st Special Operations Squadron
Capt. Jacob Duff, 15th Special Operations Squadron
Capt. James Finucane, 24th Special Tactics Squadron
Capt. Chad Flann, 19th Special Operations Squadron
Staff Sgt. Alan Hailey, 33rd Special Operations Squadron
Tech Sgt. Phillip Hamre, 58th Training Squadron
Tech Sgt. Joseph Helper, Special Tactics Training Squadron
Tech Sgt. Randy Hoppock, 5th Special Operations Squadron
Capt. Brian Maclean, 3rd Special Operations Squadron
Capt. Phillip Miller, 319th Special Operations Squadron
1st Lt. Seth Pate, 11th Intelligence Squadron
Capt. Matthew Plasterer, 193rd Special Operations Squadron
Tech Sgt. Jason Ragan, 24th Special Tactics Squadron
Tech Sgt. Cielito Saxe, 58th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
Tech Sgt. Daryl Seward, 19th Special Operations Squadron
Tech Sgt. Jason Shaffer, 27th Special Operations Security Forces Squadron
Staff Sgt. Oviett Tillery, Data Masked
Tech Sgt. Jeffrey Tourne, 11th Intelligence Squadron

 To view all photos of the Air Commando Association banquet please click on


ACAOnline features everything Air Commando Association, from membership signup forms, event registration, photos of all ACA events, Air Commando Foundation news and fund raisers, Corporate Partner information, Air Commando Journal archives, even the Commando Store. Our list of board of directors, the Air Commando Hall of Fame inductees, and lots more can be found on this web site. We hope you take a few minutes and check out all that we offer to members and the community at large, and let us know if you have any questions by contacting us at

Contact Information

Air Commando Association
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 7, Mary Esther, FL 32569-0007

Street Address: 2502 Highway 98 W, Mary Esther, FL 32569

Phone: 850-581-0099 Fax: 850-581-8988
Email:  Click here