The Air Commando Association sponsors numerous award programs each year to recognize air commando's outstanding service and achievements. The following is a list of awards and recognition programs the ACA is currently sponsoring.


  • Air Commando Hall of Fame
  • AFSOC Commander's Leadership Awards
  • AFSOC Squadron of the Year Award
  • CMSgt Roland 'Hap' Lutz Air Commando Medic of the Year Award
  • SrA Julian S. Scholten ISR Operator of the Year Award
  • DAGRE of the Year Award
  • Special Tactics Operator of the Year Awards (Officer and Enlisted)
  • AF JROTC Air Commando Association Medal and Ribbon
  • John Levitow Award for Hurlburt Field and Cannon AFB ALS Graduates
Award Winners

Commander's Leadership Award


This award recognizes AFSOC's outstanding performers from any AFSC/career field who have made the most significant contributions to mission accomplishment as determined by their respective commander. Their outstanding accomplishments make them truly deserving of this prestigious recognition.

Click Here to View Past Commander's Leadership Recipients

The Air Commando Association is proud to sponsor these annual awards. The awardees receive a full one year membership in the ACA and a plaque presented by AFSOC and other senior leaders at ACA's awards banquet during our annual convention.

Commando Medic Award


SrA Julian S. Scholten ISR Award




ST Operators of Year Award



AF JROTC Air Commando Award

The Air Commando Association, working with Laurel Highlands High School Air Force JROTC Mustang Squadron in Uniontown, PA and Headquarters, Air Force JROTC is proud to offer a national level award to AFJROTC cadets. It is the Air Commando Association Award and is designed to increase the awareness of our youth in Air Force Special Operations Forces and their historical contributions.

The ACA encourages  members to reach out to their local high schools and volunteer to present the Air Commando Association Award to these young future Air Commandos.

One cadet per unit will be recognized annually based on a one-page essay highlighting a historical Air Force Special Operations Mission. The cadet must also possess the 13 Critical Attributes of Success that distinguish an elite AFSOC Air Commando.

• Integrity
• Self-Motivation
• Intelligence
• Self-Discipline
• Perseverance
• Adaptability
• Maturity
• Judgment
• Selflessness
• Leadership
• Skilled
• Physical Fitness
• Family Strength

Each unit’s winner will be selected by the Senior Aerospace Science Instructor (a retired officer) or Aviation Science Instructor (a retired NCO) and will receive a recognition package including a ribbon and certificate. AFJROTC Unit PA-20091 will mail the ribbons and certificate template to each AFJROTC unit not later than the last day of March of each calendar year as a national service project. If a medal is desired, one is available for each unit or cadet to purchase from The medal and ribbon are based on the colors and meaning within the Air Commando Association logo.
These efforts will pay off for years to come by helping to educate nearly 100,000 cadets yearly in over 850 AF JROTC Units on the history and contributions of Air Force Special Operations.

Click here for the certificate template.

If your det would like to present the accompanied medal they are available through Vanguard. The price per medal is $18.55. Please visit and search for Item No: 6610700 or follow the direct links below. Direct link to purchase medal: Direct link to purchase both the ribbon and the medal: